Helmet customization – design

I have this idea how to put the pattern used in the logo on the helmet. last night I put some paper tape on the helmet and draw some lines over as I expect to have the pattern overlay. then I carefully  removed the tape (it has 3 layers in some areas) and cut around the drawn lines in order to be able to  lay it on a A4 paper sheet –  flattening the pattern is tricky because of the spherical shape of the helmet and I had to  stick to thin shapes.

After all this I scanned the A4 and imported it into Inkscape (one of the most capable free tools available).

scan22092016

After importing the sketch the fun started. I spent more than 5 hours to test different ways of achieving what I want. Next day I had an idea of what tools to use . But i’m satisfied with the outcome. Next time will be easier for me.

So, here are the to stripes for both sides of the helmet.

shark_side_pattern_1000px

 

 Update 04.07.2017

Here are the first results: 

Leave a Reply

